Who We Are?

Our Mission

The Mission of the Catholic University of Malawi is to contribute to the integral development of the nation through vocational training, academic courses and research activities that are tailored to meet critical needs of the nation and the Church. The institution is built on the bedrock Catholic education tradition that has shaped the academic landscape across the globe. 

More about us

The Catholic University of Malawi is an accredited institution of higher learning established by the Episcopal Conference of Malawi on October 16, 2004. The University started admitting students in 2006 and was officially opened on 28th October, 2006 by the late President Bingu wa Mutharika. It has seven faculties, namely Commerce, Education, Law, Nursing and Midwifery, Science, Social Sciences and Theology. Since its establishment, the University has grown its student body from 129 in 2006 to 4000-plus in 2020. The Catholic University has held nineteen congregations, with over 2000 graduates joining the industry in Malawi and beyond. The University of Malawi has an affiliation agreement with the Inter Congregational Institute (Balaka), St. Anthony Major Seminary, and St Peter’s Major Seminary (Zomba).


To be a center for quality holistic education in every field of knowledge for the good of the people of Malawi and beyond.